I Don’t Like Mondays

Tell me why? (okay, that was a lame 80’s reference)

At the moment, I have the mental energy to tell you this: the good news is that none of the tests found anything new. That is, there is still just one tumor (about 3.6 x 2.5 cm in size) in my abdomen. My oncologist, Dr. Arbaje is recommending that I have surgery, and I will be meeting with a surgeon sometime this week to discuss it.

Dr. Arbaje will also be meeting with “the tumor board” on Wednesday — this is a meeting of the minds in oncology, where many oncologists, radioligists, and surgeons come together to discuss their cases and come to a consensus on treatment — where he will discuss my case. He is going to give me a call later that day and let me know if new information comes out that meeting.

Depending on the types of cancer cells found in the tumor once it is removed, there is a chance that I will have to undergo chemotherapy again. At this point, surgery seems to be the next step.

That’s the new news in a nutshell. I will write more when I’m up to it. Certainly the day was more interesting than I’ve let on.

Thanks again for all your love, support, prayers, vibes, and general goodwill. It means the world.

2 Responses to “I Don’t Like Mondays”

  1. I’m glad to hear that at least things are not substantially worse than what you originally thought. My hope for you is that you get through this *last* surgery and this *last* tumor with as little discomfort as possible. And that you don’t need any more chemo. Love from us.

  2. Good news so far, if surgery can be good news. Hang in there and let me know if you need anything. Plus let Dawn know we are here if she needs to talk too. Love, Greg and the gang

Leave a Reply

