Good News Doesn’t Always Sleep In

Phone ringing just after 7PM here in Madison. Call identified as Dean Oncology, so I pick up right away. It’s Kim, Dr. Arbaje’s nurse.

“We got you’re results from your CT scan today, Mike, and I just spoke with Dr. Arbaje,” she said. And then: “You are responding to the chemo, so we’re good there.”

Enough said? Dawn did some crying, and then some dancing, and then she ran out the door to tell our neighbors Lydia and John. And then she danced a lot more.

15 Responses to “Good News Doesn’t Always Sleep In”

  1. Ann Kjerulf Knien Says:

    Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! A million times over, yay! Big HUGE hugs to you and Dawn!!! This is great news!

  2. glad to hear it mike. i will call you later. steve and i plan to come out halloween weekend. and i think matt (and maybe lisa or greg) may come out the following week. great news.

  3. I am so relieved (yet still hoping I get to see you next week but with the knowledge that you’re there to explore back up plans)!

    I cried a little, too. I didn’t dance, but I hugged Syd.

  4. Jason Haines Says:

    Great news! We’ll keep the prayers going!

  5. Tara,
    This news does not make Indiana University a back up plan, it makes it a possibility. If the chemo was not working, I would not be eligible for the stem cell treatment.

    Anyway, thanks everyone — it’s a huge relief! And I’m excited to see my brothers Jeff and Steve in a couple of weeks!

  6. Felicia Tabanico Gelsey Says:

    Excellant news! Stacy and I wish you the best at IU! They’re the gurus so you’ll be in great hands! Let us know when you’re going.

  7. SOOOOOOO happy to hear it! Would you believe it if I told you I was crying? I bet you would.

  8. Smoking Baby Says:

    >whew<

  9. I’m crying and dancing too, although it’s hard with a baby in my arms!

  10. That is such good news! As everyone has already said Yay and Hooray and I’m crying and dancing too! Good for you Mike. So glad, so glad.
    Lots of love to you and Dawn, xxo MK

  11. Jamie Marks Says:

    Dear Mike and Dawn, I am so happy for your great news.

    Jamie

  12. Ah, well, I was mildly confused. It is difficult to juggle a whole lotta medical info. But I’m glad I get to see you, glad the chemo is working, glad glad glad.

    It’s weird when you call me Tara. I’m just saying.

  13. Damon Roberson Says:

    Hey Mike, Caras coach here, weve never met but ive had enough of jeffs beer to know him fairly well and ride with him a bit. They told me about you and i just wanted to let ya know that im pullin for ya and it sounds like things are lookin up for you.
    keep pushin on!…
    Cheers
    Damon

  14. That’s GREAT news!!! 🙂

  15. way to cure the blogshyness! WOOHOO!!! I toast you with pumpkin beer!

Leave a Reply

