Indiana

Today was a bit hectic for me, so I’m just now getting around to writing a blog entry to let everyone know what happened yesterday at Indiana University. I started another post, but have abandoned it for the sake of time and brevity.

In a nutshell…

  • Dawn and I met with Dr. Williams at IU yesterday morning. He told us in a series of discussions that:
  1. He and Dr. Einhorn (the two of them are the leading experts on testicular cancer in the country) agree that I should undergo High Dose Chemotherapy with Stem Cell Support.
  2. I should receive the treatment at Indiana University because they have done it more than anyone, and helped develop the treatment.
  3. I need to start as soon as possible, which for me means November 3.
  4. I definitely (Dr. Williams: “one hundred percent”) need surgery after treatment. He told me to plan on having that done at IU as well, sometime in January after I recover from the High Dose Chemo (HDC).
  • The High Dose Chemo treatments require me to stay in Indianapolis for the better part of up to eight weeks.
  • I will receive two rounds of HDC, each lasting about three weeks, with one week to ten days off in between (fortunately, that will be Thanksgiving week!)
  • Statistically, I was told that the cure rate at recurrence is typically about 70% — however, Dr. Williams thinks that though I am a “complicated patient,” my chances are better than that. He explained that most men he treats have the disease spread more throughout their bodies, which makes it harder to treat. So, I’m grateful for that.

Of course, there are a lot more details than that, but I wanted to get the basics out to everyone. I am planning on doing the treatment in-patient at IU because they would only let me do out-patient if I had a full-time caregiver to stay with me in lodging in Indianapolis. Since I have to take a leave of absence from CTM, we can’t afford for Dawn to come down and stay the entire time with me.

So, there you have it. I’m sorry this is such a bare bones post. Rest assured, I will write more when I have time.

Love to all.

6 Responses to “Indiana”

  1. Thanks for the update, Mike. I will continue to keep you in my prayers.

  2. When you get a spare minute can you post an address for you at IU? And can you have visitors?

  3. Mike

    Good news and bad news. We have good friends in Indy, and we’ll figure out a way for you to have some support there. Continue to pray for health, hope, and a full recovery for you.

    Hugs from us — Tom & Lorita

  4. Greg (Cara's dad) Says:

    Thanks for the news about the path forward.
    You are in our thoughts and prayers.
    FYI We had a Canadian Federal election here – campaign took about 2 months. Vote was Oct. 14. We elected a minority government that means Canada will continue to move forward at a moderate pace.
    US Election is something else! CNN lives on this stuff.
    Personally l like the World Series. A chap from Fredericton
    (our home town) – Matt Stairs – hit a homer to help Phila win over LA – he was on deck last night when Phila won over Tampa Bay.
    Always a lot of interest in ball here.
    We will continue to follow your notes.

  5. Sister Lisa Says:

    Mike, I love you and I am praying for your full recovery. I’m thankful that you are in such great hands at IU. The address and room number would be good to have too. Have a fun, crazy, great, great time with your brothers this week. Lots of love, Lisa

  6. Thanks Lis…as for a mailing address, I have one now, except the room number. So, as soon as I check into the hospital, I’ll be sure to let everyone know.

    love
    m

Leave a Reply

